Team Suzuki Press Office – February 21.

Thomas Ramette – 1st
Angelo Pellegrini – 2nd
Cedric Soubeyras – 3rd

The Suzuki GB-backed SR75 World Suzuki Team enjoyed British Championship glory at the weekend when 25-year-old Thomas Ramette powered his RM-Z450 to the team’s third consecutive Arenacross Pro title.

In the build-up to the series finale at London’s Wembley Arena, the odds were stacked against Ramette. He hadn’t won a Main Event, and was nine points behind series leader Cedric Soubeyras (also Suzuki mounted).

Ramette’s team-mate Cyrille Coulon was an early season odds-on favourite. Prior to aggravating a long-standing knee problem, the 34-year-old ‘old man’ of Arenacross was the only Arenacross Pro rider to win two successive Main Events. Remarkably, despite carrying that injury, he continued racing right through to the very end and was one of the first to congratulate his friend.

Clearly delighted at his achievement, which he dedicated to his team and machine, Ramette said; “It’s amazing to win and I can’t thank my crew enough for the support and belief they’ve had in me. It has been strange not to win a Main Event and I haven’t really been that consistent – but that is me, not the bike. Actually, the Suzuki has been the most consistent thing this year.”

Ramette attributes his Main Event win to his success in the newly-introduced Hot Lap; a Superpole-style one lap against the clock which gives points to the fastest three finishers. “It was crucial to beat Cedric in the hot lap – I knew it would play on his mind. Once I’d done that, I felt confident for the evening’s main race.”

Arenacross British Championship Pro Class Results:

1. Thomas Ramette, SR75 World Suzuki (FR), 131 points
2. Angelo Pellegrini, RFX St Blazey Suzuki (IT), 126 points
3. Cedric Soubeyras, RFX St Blazey Suzuki (FR), 124 points
4. Adam Chatfield (UK), 116 points
5. Adrien Escoffier (FR), 113 points
6. Jack Brunell (UK), 109 points
7. Cyrille Coulon, SR75 World Suzuki (FR), 96 points
8. Hugo Basaula (PT), 89 points
9. Florent Richier (FR), 87 points
10. Matt Bayliss (UK), 54 points

Follow Team Suzuki Racing
Powered by Midlands Performance© Suzuki Motor Corporation 2004-2022