Team Suzuki Press Office – Dec 31.

Sloan Frost celebrated a breakthrough moment in his career when he won the 2015 edition of the popular Suzuki Road Race Series at Whanganui, New Zealand at the weekend.

Frost, from Wellington, finished second and third in his two Formula One Superbike class races aboard his MC2 Racing Fujitsu TSS Red Baron Suzuki GSX-R1000, which was enough for him to win his first major Superbike trophy after eight years of trying.

It was perhaps the perfect ending to the series that wrapped-up on the Cemetery Circuit, the closed-off public streets of Whanganui, with two Suzuki men claiming the Suzuki-sponsored series' two premier trophies: Suzuki also managed to snatch away the Formula Two 600cc class as well, with Auckland's Daniel Mettam taking his Team RCM Suzuki GSX-R600 to overcome a nine-point deficit and end the day as F2 class champion.

"After finishing ahead of Horst Saiger in the first race, it gave me a six-point buffer over him and so I backed off a little in race two, concentrating entirely on making sure I took the series crown. I just did what I had to do," said 34-year-old Frost.

"I ended up overheating the bike on the slow-down lap after race two and this meant I opted out of racing in the Robert Holden Memorial Race."

For 19-year-old Mettam, it was a rich reward for his efforts after he had narrowly missed out on winning the class last season, settling instead for overall runner-up on that occasion.

"This is the first big win for me," said Mettam afterwards. "Now I'm getting ready for the nationals. I'm really looking forward to that."

The MC2 Racing Team is supported by Suzuki Motorcycles, Bel-Ray Lubricants, Artistic Media New Zealand, Pirelli Tyres, Yoshimura, Oakley, Renthal, O’Neal Racewear, Dirtrider Downunder Magazine,, Zeta, DRC, Braking, The Dirt Guide, Xeno Web Development, Epic Decals, Sena Prism Action Camera, Sevenee Suspension Development, Taupo Diesel Solutions, Spiegler Brake Lines and Pirini Bike Park.

Words and photo courtesy of Andy McGechan @

Follow Team Suzuki Racing
Powered by Midlands Performance© Suzuki Motor Corporation 2004-2022