Team Suzuki Press Office – February 23.

Wayne Maxwell - Suzuki GSX-R1000 - 1st
Josh Waters - Suzuki GSX-R1000 - 5th

Wayne Maxwell celebrated his return to Suzuki in style by winning the opening race in the 2019 Australian Superbike Championship at Phillip Island, run in conjunction with the World Superbike Championship event.

The 12-lap race was epic, with Maxwell just getting the better of hard-charging Yamaha privateer Aiden Wagner, while Kawasaki’s Bryan Staring was third. Maxwell’s team-mate Josh Waters finished fifth.

Wagner, the polesitter, led for most of the race, but a big rear end slide at turn 11 on the last lap provided Maxwell with the opening he required: The former Aussie Superbike Champion didn’t require a second invite and he was able to sneak in front by turn 12 and take the chequered flag.

Maxwell last rode for Suzuki in 2013, winning the ASBK title.

Earlier, three-time WSBK Champion Troy Bayliss crashed spectacularly at turn one after clipping the rear of Maxwell’s GSX-R1000 under brakes. Fortunately, the 49-year-old was unhurt.

Race 1 Results:

1. Wayne Maxwell – Suzuki GSX-R1000
2. Aiden Wagner – Yamaha
3. Bryan Staring – Kawasaki
4. Cru Halliday – Yamaha
5. Josh Waters – Suzuki GSX-R1000 

Follow Team Suzuki Racing
Powered by Midlands Performance© Suzuki Motor Corporation 2004-2021